Warning: file_get_contents(/kunden/trebaxa.com/rp-hosting/3277/4312/webseiten/cardandcube.de/cms/includes/lib/hlock/blacklist.json): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /kunden/trebaxa.com/rp-hosting/3277/4312/webseiten/cardandcube.de/cms/includes/hlock.class.php on line 659

Warning: file_get_contents(/kunden/trebaxa.com/rp-hosting/3277/4312/webseiten/cardandcube.de/cms/includes/lib/hlock/blacklist.json): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /kunden/trebaxa.com/rp-hosting/3277/4312/webseiten/cardandcube.de/cms/includes/hlock.class.php on line 659
Marburg is 800!

Marburg's 800th anniversary

The city of Marburg an der Lahn will celebrate 800th anniversary of the town charter in 2022. With the City we can look back on a fascinating history, remarkable buildings, far-reaching events and milestones in science.

The playful approach of cardandcube to geometry has examples in our city's history: The decorative floors of the sacristies of the Elisabeth Church and the castle church of the Hessian landgraves.They show ambiguous images, that is pictures or patterns that cannot be seen at the same time, but only alternatively. Similar decorative floors can be found in late Romanesque and early Gothic churches north of the Alps, for example in St-Denis in Paris. South of the Alps, the tradition of patterns that deceive the senses goes back to antiquity (Pompeii).

Another work of art in Marburg that challenges sight and spirit is a detail of the magnificent Renaissance Wooden portal in the Prince's Hall of the Landgrave's Palace.


Legend: Inlay with impossible tubes as depicted by Nikolas Hagenmüller, 1573. We thank the Museum for Cultural History of the Philipps University of Marburg for the Permission to show this picture.

This Marburg work of art also testifies to the integration of our city into the European art scene. The items it shows are just as "impossible" as the construction of the "The Magpie on the Gallows" painting by Pieter Breughel d. Ä, Hagenmüller's contemporary, which is in the Hessian Art Collection in Darmstadt.

We wish the guests of our city as well as our fellow citizens even more discoveries in the Marburg cityscape

                                 cardandcube, Marburg 2021

800 Jahre Stadt Marburg

Die Stadt Marburg an der Lahn wird im Jahr 2022 das 800. Jubiläum der Stadtrechte feiern. Mit ihr blicken wir auf eine  faszinierende Geschichte, bemerkenswerte Bauten, weitreichende Ereignisse und Meilensteine der Wissenschaft.

Der spielerische Zugang zur Geometrie hat Beispiele in unserer Stadtgeschichte: Die Schmuckböden der Sakristeien der Elisabethkirche sowie der Schlosskirche der hessischen Landgrafen. Sie zeigen sogenannte Kippbilder, Bilder oder Muster, die man nicht gleichzeitig, sondern nur alternativ sehen kann. Ähnliche Schmuckböden finden sich in spätromanischen und frühgotischen Kirchen nördlich der Alpen, beispielsweise in St-Denis in Paris. Südlich der Alpen reicht die Tradition der die Sinne täuschenden Muster bis in die Antike (Pompeji) zurück.

Ein anderes Kunstwerk in Marburg, das das Sehen und Geist herausfordert ist ein Detail des prächtigen Renaissance-Holzportals im Fürstensaal des Landgrafenschlosses.

Abbildung: Intarsie mit "unmöglichen" Röhren an der Tür von Nikolas Hagenmüller (1573). Wir danken dem Museum für Kulturgeschichte der Philipps-Universität Marburg für die Erlaubnis, dieses Bild zeigen zu dürfen.

Auch dieses Marburger Kunstwerk zeugt von der Einbindung unserer Stadt ins europäische Kunstgeschehen. Es ist ebenso "unmöglich" wie das Gemälde "Die Elster auf dem Galgen" von Pieter Breughel d. Ä, Hagenmüllers Zeitgenosse, das sich in der Hessischen Kunstsammlung in Darmstadt befindet.

Den Gästen unserer Stadt wie auch unseren Mitbürgern wünschen wir noch mehr Entdeckungen im Marburger Stadtbild.
                                 cardandcube, Marburg 2021